Intermittence

par-intermittence-5846321. Sometimes I find myself staring and seeing nothing.

x
2. Sometimes the pool of the world fills as from a spring pouring out of the last shovel strike.

x
3. Sometimes the operations of my neighborhood—the trains and dog-walkers, the people loitering on stoops or shifting their weight as they stand beside locked cars—seem the working parts of a vast clock that only winds up.

x
4. Sometimes a breeze turns as from some new impulse and urgency.

x
5. Sometimes the moon seems to watch.

x
6. Sometimes I have to close my eyes because fathoms-deep tides pull me under and, try as I might, their insistence is irresistible, the pleading voices of souls seeking company and solace.

x
7. Sometimes, when walking seems new to children, I wait to see parents take their hands.

x
8. Sometimes ice on the lake undulates the way the earth must during a quake, and, watching, I’m momentarily disoriented, my own legs wobbly.

x
9. Sometimes, when a cold gust raises tears, I’m happy for the relief.

x
10. Sometimes I imagine saving the sun from stampeding clouds.

x
11. Sometimes the sun burns through the hardest ice.

x
12. Sometimes unguarded people allow our eyes to linger.

x
13. Sometimes, if my trip to work is full of images, sounds, and smells, they drown my thoughts and urge acquiescence and sacrifice.

x
14. Sometimes snow flurries are so small and random, they remind me how much I long for mayflies.

x
15. Sometimes I see empty storefronts, their windows expansive and vacant, gaping almost jealously at passers-by.

x
16. Sometimes a shout from nowhere reminds me I’m really not alone.

x
17. Sometimes people insist I listen.

x
18. Sometimes I wonder if it might be a relief to be deaf.

x
19. Sometimes branches move only when you watch.

x
20. Sometimes cars lurch through intersections with visible resistance and sometimes they punch a new hole in that direction.

x
21. Sometimes gray appears most of the world.

x
22. Sometimes the parts of a broken glass seem to long for one another.

x
23. Sometimes I do and don’t want more.

x
24. Sometimes a flapping sail feels restless and sometimes reluctant.

x
25. Sometimes my brain thirsts for color the way you want salt.

x
26. Sometimes I forget the day started with my sitting on the edge of the bed willing myself to rise and silence the alarm and praying it might silence itself or, at least, only be part of a dream interrupted.

x
27. Sometimes everything looks already made.

x
28. Sometimes actors bow days after the show is over.

x

29. Sometimes the sun’s exit is perfect.

x
30. Sometimes sometimes doesn’t seem often enough and other times too often.

Leave a comment

Filed under American Sentences, Chicago, Doubt, Essays, Experiments, Gesellschaft, Home Life, Identity, Laments, life, Lyric Essays, Meditations, Modern Life, Place, Prose Poems, Thoughts, Uncategorized, Urban Life, Voice

Leave a Reply

